top of page
Search

Black Lives Still Matter

I have struggled with the words. But I feel that I owe it to myself and to you to try and form some cohesive thoughts regarding the crisis that faces our nation.

I am saddened. I am ashamed. Ashamed that those words even had to be said, this crisis should not exist. Ashamed to have grown up in a world that claimed to be so loving and welcoming and embracing, A MELTING POT of diversity—as if. Ashamed to live in a place where racism is AT MOST recognized, yet never addressed.

My heart breaks for the members of the Black community.

BLACK. LIVES. MATTER.

I cannot fathom how people do not understand that. How cops think that it is OK to kill somebodies because of the color of their skin. I believe in good cops but OH do I believe in bad cops too.

Disgusting.

I cannot fathom that this is controversial. That people think it’s political. Every human being deserves to be treated the same way regardless of the color of their skin. Disagreeing with that statement is simply racist. And ignoring police brutality against members of the Black community and all other ways in which the Black community is disproportionately at a disadvantage is racist.

BLACK. LIVES. MATTER.

I will not sit here and pretend that I am perfect. I will not pretend that I have not said things I wish I could take back, that I did not once buy into things I should not have, that I never questioned the white and privileged society I live in, that I did not fail to recognize my privilege for so long. I wish that I could smack my younger self. I wish that I could take it all back. But I can’t.

I will not sit here and try to take away from the voices of the Black community that need to be heard always but especially now.

I will sit here and say that I cannot ever understand, but I will stand with you.

My heart goes out to the Black community, and I join you in this fight against racial injustice.

I will be continuing to educate myself on systemic racism in our society and encourage all my white friends to do the same.

I do not wish to overstep the voices that truly need to be heard. I wrote this to let the Black community, and all my Black friends, know that I stand with you and am here for you. And to remind all my white friends that we can and must be better.

Attached is a list of Black community members and organizations to listen to and follow, as well as a list of resources for educating ourselves.

May we listen and learn and may the world one day see peace. God bless.

Organizations to follow:

NAACP

Black Lives Matter

Campaign Zero

Black Visions Collective

Minnesota Freedom Fund

The Leadership Conference on

Civil and Human Rights

Movement For Black Rights

Color Of Change

Showing Up For Racial Justice

Reclaim the Block

Ethel’s Club

United We Dream

Voices to follow:

Patrisse Cullors-Brignac

Layla F. Saad

Tamika D. Mallory

Samuel Sinyangwe

Rachel Elisabeth Cargle

Ava DuVernay

Stephen Jackson Sr.

Zeba Blay

Austin Channing Brown

Deray McKesson

Ta-Nehisi Coates

Read:

White Fragility

by Robin DiAngelo

How to Be an Anti-Racist

by Ibram X. Kendi

The New Jim Crow

by Michelle Alexander

Divided Sisters

by Midge Wilson and Kathy Russell

The Bluest Eye

by Toni Morrison

Their Eyes Were Watching God

by Zora Neale Hurston

They Can’t Kill Us All

by Wesley Lowery

I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings

by Maya Angelou

Fatal Invention

by Dorothy Roberts

Locking Up Our Own

by James Forman

The Miner’s Canary

by Lani Guiner and Gerald Torres

The Wretched of the Earth

by Frantz Fanon

Watch:

Dear White People

American Son

When They See Us

Explained: The Racial Wealth Gap

Time: The Kalief Browder Story

13th

Who Killed Malcolm X?

See You Yesterday

If Beale Street Could Talk

The Hate U Give

Clemency

Just Mercy

Selma

King in the Wilderness

The Hate You Give Us

Listen:

1619(NYT)

About Race

Code Switch(NPR)

Intersectionality Matters!

Hosted by Kimberlé Crenshaw

Momentum: A Race Forward Project

Pod For The Cause

Pod Save the People

Seeing White

The Diversity Gap


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I Hope

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page